Monday 29 October 2018

Five Football Teams Who's Names Begin With 'Bishop'

Bishops Lydeard FC
Based in the town of the same name near Taunton, Somerset, Bishops Lydeard currently play in the Western League Division One (step 6) having spent much of their existence in the Taunton & District League and more recently the Somerset County League.

Bishop Sutton AFC
Also playing in Western League Division One are Bishop Sutton. Based in the village of Bishop Sutton, Somerset, they won the Western League Premier Division in 2012/13 before getting relegated two seasons later.

Bishop's Cleeve FC
Playing the Hellenic League Premier Division (step 5) the team are based in Bishop's Cleeve, near Cheltenham. Having been promoted to the Southern League Division One in 2006 they were relegated back to the Hellenic League last season.

Bishop's Stortford FC
Formed in 1874 the club were FA Amateur Cup winners in 1974 and FA Trophy winners in 1981, and have thirteen times reached the first round of the FA Cup, whilst in 1983 they lost to then Second Division Middlesbrough in a third round replay. They currently play in the Bostik League Premier Division (step 3).

Bishop Auckland
Formed in 1886 and historically one of the bigger names in non league football, Bishop Auckland won the FA Amateur Cup a record ten times and in 1954/55 reached the fourth round of the FA Cup. They currently playing in the EBAC Northern League (step 5). 

A version of this will be printed in Bishop Auckland's matchday programme for the Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup match with Easington Colliery 31 October 2018

No comments:

Post a Comment